B.A. in Communication Studies – Overview


The Communication Studies curriculum gives students a strong foundation in the three areas of our department: Media and Visual Culture, and Relational and Organizational Studies, and Rhetoric and Civic Engagement. Throughout our curriculum, students hone their skills in the many facets of oral, written, nonverbal, visual, electronic, and computer-mediated communication. There are four specific class types that students must take to complete their major:

1. Core Classes: Students are introduced to the major through five course classes:

  • SPCM 100, Communication and Pop Culture
  • SPCM 130, Relational and Organizational Communication
  • SPCM 200, Public Speaking
  • SPCM 201, Rhetoric and Western Thought
  • SPCM 207, Public Argumentation

2. Communication Studies Elective Classes: Beyond the required core courses, students take a variety of elective courses from across our three areas. Some students choose to focus on a particular area of study while others develop a plan of study that is more broad. The choice is up to each student.

3. Classes Outside the Department: All students are required to take courses in the arts and humanities, the social sciences, and history, AND complete a minor/second major/or interdisciplinary certificate.

4. Capstone: Before graduation, students take SPCM 479 which asks them to reflect on the various concepts they have engaged with throughout their time as a Communication Studies major.