New seminar: Teaching Northern Colorado’s LGBTQ+ Past in the K-12 Classroom

2022 Carl A. Bimson Humanities Seminar Program Award CSU Associate Professor and Director of Public Speaking Thomas R. Dunn was recently granted the 2022 Carl A. Bimson Humanities Seminar Award from the College of Liberal Arts for his work with the Queer Memory Project of Northern Colorado. This competitive award provides $15,000 to support a […]

Prestigious national honor society welcomes new CSU students

Late last year, two outstanding undergraduate Communication Studies students—Nicole Taylor and Allison Slusar—were recognized for their high achievement with inductions into the National Communication Association’s (NCA’s) undergraduate honor society, Lambda Pi Eta. CSU is home to the Mu Sigma Chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, a prestigious organization that requires high academic marks and commitment to […]

ACT Human Rights Film Festival receives grant from Colorado Arts Relief Fund

This story originally appeared on ACT Human Rights Film Festival’s website. ACT Human Rights Film Festival has been selected by Colorado Creative Industries (CCI), a division of the Office of Economic Development and International Trade, to receive a grant through the Colorado Arts Relief Fund in support of its April 2022 film festival and year-round […]

Top honors and more at 2021 National Communication Association convention

CSU students and faculty were among the many enthusiastic participants at this year’s National Communication Association (NCA) conference in Seattle. First of all, congratulations to all our faculty and students who took home awards from NCA this year! Association Awards Dr. Greg Dickinson: Presidential Citation for Dedication and Service to NCA for his work as […]

Communication Studies student crowned National Miss Amazing

This story originally appeared in Source.   Savanah Overturf was nonverbal until she was 4 years old. Now, the 28-year-old Colorado State University student is pursuing a career in public speaking, and reads slam poetry at a Fort Collins coffee shop once a week. Overturf, who is pursuing a major in communication studies with a […]

Communication Studies faculty among inaugural cohort of CSU Leadership Fellows

This is an excerpt from a story that originally appeared in Source. The inaugural cohort of Colorado State University Leadership Fellows for the 2021-22 academic year was announced last month. This new program was developed by President Joyce McConnell and university leadership to reach out to and support the many tremendously talented leaders among CSU […]

Dunn named Monfort Professor

This story originally appeared in Source. Thomas R. Dunn, an associate professor in the Department of Communication Studies, has been named a Monfort Professor, one of Colorado State University’s highest honors. A leading scholar in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer activism and memory, Dunn also has primary responsibility for training and mentoring all of […]

Seitz receives 2020 Top Rhetorical M.A. Thesis Award

Lauren Seitz (’20) has received the 2020 National Communication Association Top Rhetorical M.A. Thesis Award. Her thesis, “France Deserves to be Free”: Constituting Frenchness in Marine Le Pen’s National Front/National Rally,” examines the constitutive power of the rhetoric and media coverage of Marine Le Pen, the leader of the French far-right party known (at different […]

Gilmore receives 2020 Xiao Award

Doctoral candidate Andrew Gilmore has received the 2020 Xiao Award for Outstanding Rhetorical Research from the Association for Chinese Communication Studies at the National Communication Association for his essay “Hong Kong’s Vehicles of Democracy: The Vernacular Monumentality of Buses During the Umbrella Revolution,” published in the Journal of International and Intercultural Communication in 2019. 30, 2020 […]