This content originally appeared online in Celebrate CLA! on CLA Source. 
Each spring the College of Liberal Arts recognizes faculty and staff for their contributions to their units, the college, the university, their colleagues, and to their profession or discipline. This year four members of the Department of Communication Studies were honored with the following awards.  
Distinction in Curricular Innovation Award – Karrin Vasby Anderson 
This award is presented in recognition of a member of the College faculty who has made outstanding contributions to curricular innovation, which may include, but is not limited to, such areas as program development, instructional methods, service learning, and technology integration. 
Karrin Vasby Anderson received this award for her constant and dedicated efforts to updating and improving curriculum. Karrin has been credited with the creation of a number of Communication Studies classes that are “shaped by her belief that a liberal arts education should prepare students not just for 21st Century workplaces, but also for healthy democratic engagement in an increasingly complex world,” as her nominator states. 
Excellence in Teaching Award – Elizabeth Williams, Associate Professor Category 
The CLA Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize one outstanding teacher in each of the following four categories: Graduate Teaching Assistant, Non-Tenure Track Faculty, Tenure-Track Faculty, and Associate Professor.  
Elizbeth Williams received this award for her dedication to “ensuring that students are challenged in the classroom, feel heard and listened to, and invited to maintain their alumni connections” as stated in her nomination. Her effect on students is long lasting, as one asserts, “Thank you for preparing me in my education to excel – in a professional capacity and in achieving a master’s degree.” 
Distinction in Outreach Award – Greg Dickinson 
This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding outreach efforts as a member of the College. Outreach is integrated scholarship which engages the College’s academic missions of research, creativity, teaching, and service outside the University. The recipients strengthen relationships and collaborative efforts for the College of Liberal Arts by enhancing its image, sharing their talent, and creating and sustaining substantive and valuable connections among the College’s many constituencies. 
Through his work with the ACT Human Rights Film Festival, The National Western Center, and the Center for Public Deliberation, Greg Dickinson’s efforts have made him this year’s recipient. His efforts have “enhanced the college’s image through connections with outside constituencies, involving alumni, friends, and foundations,” which has elevated the college as a whole, as his nominators expressed. 
Administrative Professional Award – Beth Seymour 
The College of Liberal Arts Administrative Professional Award recognizes meritorious and outstanding achievement in job skills and/or service to the college by Administrative Professional employees. This may include excellent job skills and workplace achievements above what is normally expected. 
In just two and a half years at CSU, Beth Seymour’s efforts as the managing director of the ACT Human Rights Film Festival stand out, making her this year’s award recipient. Her continuous endeavors to expand the film festival and its outreach to the community exemplify her “exceptional career performance that surpasses normal job expectations and contributes to the success of fellow employees and students,” as her nominators expressed. 
View the complete list of Celebrate CLA! award recipients